10 Albanian Habits That Are Making Me A Rude American

WildKat Formation

When you find yourself living in a new environment–particularly one drastically different from where you previously lived–it’s really easy to slowly, subtly acquire traits that mimic what you see around you without even noticing it. Because I live in Albania now, I have started to “become Albanian” in many ways: the way that I cross the street, the way I order at restaurants, the way I walk, the way I look (i.e. WEAR ALL THE LIPSTICKS), but especially the way that I communicate. However, a lot of these habits are not only things I would never do in America but behavior that is bizarre or even rude back home. So, if and when I move back, I’m in for lots of dirty looks and funny glances:

A perfectly-executed finger wag, if I do say so myself A perfectly-executed finger wag, if I do say so myself

1. Finger wagging: Developing this habit is an absolute necessity here. I first discovered…

View original post 1,305 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture

Leave a Reply

